My Attempt of Pop Cakes

As promised I made my own pop cakes. I decided to cheat a little bit and buy a chocolate cake mix because I couldn’t cope with going through making a chocolate cake from scratch and then breaking it up if it went wrong. So here’s what I did to make them…

You need:

1 x Chocolate cake mix (I used Betty Crocker), plus the extras they require – usually eggs, oil and water

1 x Tub chocolate frosting (I used Betty Crocker)

1 x Packet of lolly pop sticks (I got these from Hobby Craft)

2 x Large bars of white cooking chocolate (milk/dark if preferred)

Sprinkles, icing writing and whatever else you require to decorate

Optional: Pop cakes packaging if giving as a gift

Image

1. Follow the instructions from a chocolate cake mix (I used Betty Crocker). This made two small chocolate cakes.

Image

2. When cooled, break chocolate cake into crumbs using your hands in a mixing bowl.

3. Spoon one large spoon of pre-made chocolate frosting (I used Betty Crocker) into the mixing bowl and mix well with the crumbs using your hands. The crumbs should become stickier, but not too sticky as you want to keep the cakey texture.

Image

4. Taking a handful of chocolate cake gently roll into a small tight ball. I used a small ice cream scoop to get the same sized balls.

5. Melt 1/3 of a bar of white cooking chocolate in the microwave.

6. Dip the ends of the lolly pop sticks into the melted white chocolate and then insert halfway into the rolled out chocolate cake balls.

7. Once you have completed this with all the mixture place in a freezer for 20 minutes.

8. Meanwhile prepare the toppings that you would like to use for decorating your pop cakes.

9. Melt the remainder of the white chocolate plus another 2/3’s bar. (You could use milk chocolate, dark chocolate or icing instead). I would recommend pouring the melted chocolate in a thin narrow glass/mug to make coating the pop cakes easy.

10. Take the pop cakes out of the freezer and dip each one in the melted chocolate. Let the excess chocolate drip off. If you are decorating using sprinkles like I did, don’t leave it too long before covering because the chocolate hardens quickly.

Image

11. When I was out shopping for the lolly sticks I found packaging for pop cakes (hobby craft). Adds the finishing touch if giving them as a gift.

ImageI also made some upside down ones for Halloween. I let the chocolate coating dry and then using a lolly pop stick I dripped white chocolate around the outside and used icing writing to make the eyes.

So that’s it! They are so simple, look great and taste pretty good. If I make them again I will make my own chocolate cake and use icing to create different coloured pop cakes.

Leave a comment